Two positions for lecture courses on pluralism in set theory

The Set Theoretic Pluralism (STP) network is pleased to announce the availability of two bursary positions for its forthcoming symposium in July 2016. The deadline for applications is Monday 11th January 2016. Please read on for further details of the bursaries and how to apply.

Those awarded a bursary will be expected to give a short course of three lectures on a topic relevant to the network’s remit, namely pluralism in set theory. We invite applications from researchers at any stage in their career, and working in any relevant area, but we are particularly keen to fund early career researchers working in set theory and the philosophy of set theory. The bursary will include full funding for travel and accommodation for the duration of the conference.
The STP network is funded by a Leverhulme International Network grant and hosted at the University of Aberdeen. It is led by Toby Meadows (Principal Investigator), and coordinated by Benedict Eastaugh (Postdoctoral Researcher).
The STP network draws together experts in mathematics and philosophy to grapple with the increasingly popular idea that mathematical reality may be best understood as fractured and indeterminate. The STP network partners include the University of Aberdeen, Harvard University, the University of Bristol, the University of Vienna, the University of Helsinki, and the University of California, Irvine. For more details of the network’s context and aims, please refer to the network website:
The STP network’s first symposium will take place from Tuesday, July 12 to Sunday, July 17, 2016, at the University of Aberdeen. Participants include Joan Bagaria (ICREA, Barcelona), Joel David Hamkins (CUNY/NYU), Juliette Kennedy (Helskinki), Øystein Linnebo (Oslo), Jouko Väänänen (Helsinki), Robbie Williams (Leeds), Crispin Wright (Stirling), Justin Clarke-Doane (Columbia), Jonas Reitz (CUNY), and Toby Meadows (Aberdeen).
Interested applicants should submit a one-page proposal and a short CV to the network facilitator, Benedict Eastaugh, at, by Monday 11th January 2016.


Benedict Eastaugh
Network Facilitator, Set Theoretic Pluralism project
School of Divinity, History and Philosophy
University of Aberdeen
Old Brewery, High Street, Aberdeen, AB24 3UB

The University of Aberdeen is a charity registered in Scotland, No SC013683.
Tha Oilthigh Obar Dheathain na charthannas clàraichte ann an Alba, Àir. SC013683.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s