Hausdorff medals

The Hausdorff medal is awarded biennially (i.e. once every two years) for the most influential work in set theory published in the five years preceding the medal.

The 4th Hausdorff Medal 2019 for the most influential work in set theory
in the previous 5 years was awarded to Itay Neeman (UCLA) at the European Set Theory Conference, the biennial conference of the ESTS, in Vienna on 1 July 2019.

The medal was awarded for his work on the new method of iterating forcing using side conditions and the tree property. The committee cited the following papers for their fundamental contributions and for opening up the new directions of study:

–  Forcing with sequences of models of two types, Notre Dame J. Formal 
Logic, vol. 55 (2014), pp. 265–298,
– Two applications of finite side conditions at ω2. Arch. Math. Logic 56 
(2017), no. 7-8, 983–1036
– The tree property up to ℵω+1. J. Symb. Log. 79 (2014), no. 2, 


The third Hausdorff medal was awarded to Maryanthe Malliaris and Saharon Shelah for their work outlined in the paper:

General topology meets model theory, on p and t. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 110 (2013), no. 33, 13300-13305,

and then expounded in the detailed, 60 page long version:

Cofinality spectrum theorems in model theory, set theory, and general topology. J. Amer. Math. Soc. 29 (2016), no. 1, 237-297.


The second Hausdorff medal was awarded to Ronald Jensen and John Steel at the fifth European Set Theory Conference in Cambridge, UK on August 26, 2015.

The medal was awarded to the paper

K without the measurable, The Journal of Symbolic Logic, Volume 78, Issue 3 (2013), pp.708-734

by Ronald Jensen and John Steel.

first medal

The first Hausdorff medal was awarded to Hugh Woodin at the fourth European Set Theory Conference in Mon St Benet, Spain on July 15, 2013.

The medal medal was awarded to the papers

Suitable extender models I. J. Math. Log. 10 (2010), no. 1-2, pp.101–339
Suitable extender models II: beyond omega-huge. J. Math. Log. 11 (2011), no. 2, pp.115–436

by W. Hugh Woodin, where the author made a major contribution to the inner model theory of supercompact cardinals and beyond.